Home

Dead Poets Society.

movie_image

New semester of 2013 went by almost a month. How did you enjoy your March? Was it fun? Well, my March was extremely tired, because I had to adapt with my new class. Anyway, my situation was better than adapting to new school as Welton Academy’s students. Oh, who are the students? They are the guys whom I’m going to talk about. Also, they are the main characters in a book which I’m going to introduce, “Dead Poets Society”. I saw this book into movie before, so I was very curious about the book more. I thought the movie was satisfying.

Welton Academy was a private school that every parent put their children through. Todd Anderson transferred to this school and he was excited about it. Todd and his friend met an English professor, John Keating. John was different with other teachers. He taught them enjoy their present (Carpe Diem). Plus he taught them about life, courage, and made them live their real lives. Todd and Todd’s friend who were Neil, Knox, Charlie, Richard, Steven, and Gerard heard about the circle named ‘Dead Poets Society’ from Mr. Keating. They kept going to have the circle and feel freedom with it. Mr. Keating cheered Neil Perry’s dream which is being actor. However, Neil’s father never wanted Neil to be an actor. Neil fell into despair and committed suicide. School held Mr. Keating responsible, so Mr. Keating had to leave Welton. When he was leaving, Todd and his friend went up to the desk and said “Oh Captain my Captain”. Before Mr. Keating left, he said the last word, “Thank you Boys, I… thank you.”

While I read this book, I want to have a teacher as Mr. Keating. He taught students enjoyment of life in the hard world. The background of this book, Welton Academy ignored humanity and personality of every single student. Also the students’ parents ignored it and made students to push ahead with examination. The students followed before they met Mr. Keating. After Mr. Keating taught them, they started to enjoy their live, find their own dream, have courage, and more positive changes. I felt great teacher have to teach about every things about life, not just about examination. I think the message of this book is it. In the book, Mr. Keating tore up the front of books which explain about understanding poetry by rote. On the other hand, the principal of Welton, Mr. Nolan taught it to the students. These parts showed me criticism from these days education problem.

The best part of the book was the last part. During Mr. Nolan’s class, Mr. Keating left. Then Todd who was the most shy guy went up to his desk and said “Oh captain my captain.” Most of the students who followed Mr. Keating went up to the desk and said “Oh captain my captain.” Line of their sight was Mr. Keating, opposite side of Mr. Nolan. I thought this part was the most moving part. Actually, every single word of the book was touching and meaningful. Which Mr. Keating said was always wonderfully touching words. Anyway, this happening wasn’t made by Mr. Keating, but the students. It showed us changes of the students and the result of Mr. Keating’s education. The biggest thing I was surprise was the first guy was Todd. He wasn’t brave as other guys, but he did most brave behave at the end. I can notice that the relationship between them was tremendous. When I saw this part of the movie, I was almost crying.

When I read the book, I could feel every lecture of Mr. Keating more than the movie. Plus, I could learn that the students learn. I thought Welton Academy was similar with these days of Korea’s education problem. Ignoring personality and own talent and adjure perfect score from the exams. Korea’s education needs a person like John Keating. Lastly, I want to say ‘Carpe Diem’ for you.

Leave a Reply

